TCRC National Bursary Program

February 8th 2010  | Source: TCRC National Office

The TCRC National Executive Board recognizes the importance of education and in 2008 established an annual bursary program.

Subject of the essay:
"Do you think Unions will continue to play important roles within Canada in the future?"

Details of the program:

  1. Twenty (20) bursaries are awarded annually valued at five hundred dollars ($500.00) each.
  2. Each bursary is paid directly to the Canadian Post Secondary Education Institution.
  3. A spouse, child or grandchild of an active TCRC Member is eligible to apply for the annual bursary.
  4. Bursaries are not available to family members of National Officers or staff.
  5. Each application for a bursary must be accompanied by a 500 word essay, typed, double spaced and 12 font size.
  6. Bursary is not carried over to the next year.
  7. Eligible applicant must be enrolled and accepted into a recognized and certified Canadian Post Secondary Education Institution.
  8. Deadline for applications is May 30 annually. The application and essay must be received by mail or fax in Ottawa by the May 30th deadline. No email applications accepted.
  9. All decisions on the selection of successful applicants are final.
 James R. Hoffa Memorial Scholarship Fund 2010 -2011

Welcome to the James R. Hoffa Memorial Scholarship Fund Information Center, Your One-Stop Shop for Information, Policy, Procedures and Forms.

James R. Hoffa became a Teamster member in 1934 and served as General President for 14 years, and, in recognition of his tireless service to the Union and its members, was honored as General President Emeritus for life. At the November 1999 General Executive Board meeting, General Secretary-Treasurer C. Thomas Keegel presented a resolution to establish the new scholarship fund. This site describes the James R. Hoffa Memorial Scholarship Fund and outlines eligibility requirements and application procedures. The 2010-2011 scholarship for high school seniors begins November 2009 with a deadline of March 31, 2010.

One hundred scholarships will be awarded this program year. Applicants compete in one of the five geographic regions where the Teamster parent’s local union is located.

Thirty-one of the awards total $10,000 each. These four-year scholarships are disbursed at the rate of $2,500 per year and are renewable annually. Sixty-nine of the awards are one-time $1,000 grants. These scholarships are disbursed to the college or university at the beginning of the recipient’s freshman year.

Eligibility requirements and application procedures are the same for all awards. Recipients are selected by an impartial committee of university admissions and financial aid directors based on academic achievement, SAT/ACT scores, character, potential and financial need. We consider all applicants without regard to race, religion, gender, disability, or any other legally protected status.

The Scholarship Fund has established some guidelines to be used by students when deciding whether or not to apply to this program.

Applicants should:

bullet Rank in the top 15 percent of their high school class; bullet Have, or expect to have, excellent SAT or ACT scores; and bullet Demonstrate financial need.

Due to the highly competitive nature of the program and the large number of applicants, students should carefully consider these criteria before submitting an application.

The James R Hoffa Memorial Scholarship Fund is an independent organization established and registered as a tax exempt entity under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code. The Fund is established solely to provide scholarships to the children and dependents of members of the International Brotherhood of Teamsters, and contributions to the Fund are deductible as charitable contributions to the extent permitted by law. The International Union provides certain in kind services to the Fund in order to benefit members and their children and dependents.

bullet 2010-2011 James R. Hoffa Memorial Scholarship Fund Application and Academic Record bullet Regulations Governing Use of Scholarships bullet Meet the 2009 JRH Scholarship Fund Winners
 Division 660 Meetings
Meetings are for TCRC Division 660 Bombardier employees of all classifications.

The meetings will be held at Long Branch legion 3850 Lakeshore blvd West.